Comparison · 12 servers

Best X (Twitter) MCP Servers in 2026: 12 Compared for Posting From Your AI

X's own MCP server reads and searches but does not create posts. We checked 12 X and Twitter MCP servers against their own docs and X's API pricing: which post with their own approved app, which need your developer keys, and which only read.

Iker G.Iker G. · Oct 21, 2026
The table, as cards

The 12 servers compared

ServerConnects to X viaPaste a key or token?PostsThreadsSchedulingPrice, as the vendor states it
AntworkDocs ↗OursAntwork's own X app (OAuth)NoText up to 280 characters, up to 4 images, a GIF or a videoNoYes2 accounts free, then $5 per account/month (pricing)
X MCPSource ↗Your own X developer app, through the xurl mcp bridgeYour app's OAuth credentialsNo ordinary posts listed; drafts and publishes Articlesn/aNot statedX API pay-per-use (pricing)
xmcpSource ↗Your own X developer app, run locallyYes, your app's tokensPosts, with media uploadNot statedNot statedFree software; X API pay-per-use
BlotatoSource ↗Blotato's X connection (OAuth in Claude)No in Claude; an API key header in other clientsPosts, threads, image postsYesYesFrom $29/mo; MCP not in the trial (pricing)
OpenTweetSource ↗OpenTweet's X connectionYes, an OpenTweet keyPosts, images, X ArticlesUp to 25 postsYes, including batch scheduling7 days free, then from $19.99/mo
BufferSource ↗Your Buffer channels (OAuth or API key)No for OAuth clientsPosts to your Buffer queue, as drafts or scheduled1 thread on Free (pricing)YesMCP on every plan, Free included; paid from $5/channel/mo
PostizSource ↗Postiz's own apps on Cloud (OAuth); your own apps if self-hostedNoPosts, with generated images and videoNot statedYes"Start for $0"; MCP in every plan
PostMCPSource ↗Each platform's OAuth sign-inYes, a PostMCP keyPosts; every publish waits for a yesNot statedYesFree tier of 20 credits/month, an X post is 5; paid from $20/mo
ComposioSource ↗Your own X OAuth appNot statedPosts, images onlyNot statedNot statedFree plan with 100,000 tool calls/month (pricing); your X API costs apply
vidhupv/x-mcpSource ↗Your own X developer keysYes, four keysPosts and draftsYesNot statedFree, MIT
Infatoshi/x-mcpSource ↗Your own X developer keysYes, five credentialsPosts, quotes, mediaNot statedNot statedFree, MIT
Apify Tweet ScraperSource ↗ScrapingAn Apify token or OAuthDoes not postn/an/aFrom $0.40 per 1,000 posts

"Not stated" means the vendor's own page does not say. It does not mean the feature is missing. Vendors change fast in this space, so open the linked page before relying on any single cell.

Short answer: to post to X from Claude, ChatGPT or Cursor, use a hosted MCP server that connects X through its own approved app. You sign in with X once, and there is no developer app to create and no X API bill of your own. Antwork (free for two accounts), Blotato, OpenTweet, Postiz, PostMCP and Buffer work that way. X's own MCP server is real, but it is built for reading and search, not for posting your updates.

This page sorts the twelve X and Twitter MCP servers that come up most, using two sources only: each vendor's own documentation and X's own developer documentation. Everything was checked on 21 October 2026, and every row links to where the fact came from. For servers that post to every network, see social media MCP servers compared.

Post, or read?

You want your AI toKind of serverExamples
Draft, schedule and publish your postsHosted, with the vendor's own X appAntwork, Blotato, OpenTweet, Postiz, PostMCP, Buffer
Post from a local setup you controlOpen source, your own X developer keysxmcp, vidhupv/x-mcp, Infatoshi/x-mcp
Post as one step of an automationAutomation platformComposio
Search posts, read timelines and mentionsX's official MCP, your own appX MCP (api.x.com/mcp)
Pull posts in bulkScraperApify

What X's API means for any MCP server

Every X MCP server ends up calling X's API, and two facts from X's own documentation decide what each one costs you and how much setup it needs.

FactWhat X saysSource
How the API is billed"The X API uses pay-per-usage pricing. No subscriptions—pay only for what you use."X API pricing
Creating a post$0.015 per request; $0.200 per request when the post contains a URLX API pricing
Reading postsPay-per-use plans are "capped at 3 million Post reads per monthly billing cycle"X API pricing
X's own MCP server"X's OAuth requires your own developer app"X MCP docs

Two practical consequences:

  1. A server on your own keys bills you per post. That includes every open-source GitHub server and X's own MCP. The software is free; the API is not.
  2. A server with its own X app carries that cost in its own price. You sign in with X, and the vendor's plan is the only bill.

Publishing servers, one by one

Antwork

OursVendor docs ↗

A hosted MCP server at https://api.antwork.io/mcp. You add the URL to your AI app and sign in with X once; Antwork connects through its own X app, so you never create a developer app or pay X's API yourself. Before drafting, your AI reads the account's recent posts and their engagement, so a draft starts from how that account already writes, and every post lands as a draft you approve before it is scheduled or published. One campaign can take the same idea to X, LinkedIn, Threads and the other networks, with a different text for each account. It works in Claude, ChatGPT (as an official app), Claude Code, Codex and Cursor. The first 2 accounts are free, with up to 15 posts a day per account on X.

Limits
No threads, replies or quote posts: each X post is a single post of up to 280 characters. It does not search X, read your timeline or mentions, or send DMs.

A hosted server at https://mcp.blotato.com/mcp that signs in with OAuth in Claude and uses an API-key header in other clients. Its page lists publishing posts, threads and image posts to X, and scheduling on all nine of its platforms. Blotato also generates visuals and video. MCP access needs a paid plan; the 7-day trial does not include it.

An X-only scheduler with a hosted MCP at mcp.opentweet.io/mcp, authenticated with an OpenTweet key and "no X developer account". It is the strongest choice here for long-form X: threads of up to 25 posts, X Articles and batch scheduling, plus a search for high-performing posts to repurpose. It cannot reply to other people's posts.

Buffer's official MCP at https://mcp.buffer.com/mcp drives the same queue as the Buffer app, and Buffer says MCP access is included on every plan, Free too. X is one of Buffer's 12 networks. A good fit if your team already schedules in Buffer. See Buffer MCP vs Antwork for the full comparison.

Postiz and PostMCP

Postiz's cloud MCP signs in with OAuth through Postiz's own pre-approved apps ("No API key needed") and schedules to 30+ platforms; self-hosting it means creating your own developer apps. It is open source under AGPL-3.0. PostMCP uses each platform's OAuth sign-in with a PostMCP key, makes every publish wait for a yes, and has a free tier of 20 credits a month, where an X post costs 5.

Servers on your own X developer keys

X MCP is X's own hosted server, reached through the xurl mcp bridge. Its documented tool groups are posts (fetch, likers, reposters, quoters, counts), full-archive and user search, timelines and mentions, bookmarks, news and trends, and Articles. It is the most complete reader here, straight from the source, but it lists no tool for creating an ordinary post.

xmcp is X's open-source local server. It does create posts and upload media, using tokens from "An X Developer Platform app".

Composio exposes X as one toolkit among hundreds, and "Twitter requires connections to go through your own OAuth app". vidhupv/x-mcp and Infatoshi/x-mcp are popular MIT-licensed servers that post with your keys; Infatoshi's also reads search, timelines and mentions.

All of these bill X API usage to your developer account, at the per-request prices above.

How to connect an X MCP server

The steps are the same for any hosted server. Here they are with Antwork's URL; swap in your vendor's.

  • Claude (claude.ai and Claude Desktop): Settings → Connectors → Add custom connector, paste https://api.antwork.io/mcp, then sign in when asked. The walkthrough is in how to connect Claude to X.
  • ChatGPT: Antwork is an official app in ChatGPT's directory: open its listing, click Connect, sign in and approve. More in posting to X from ChatGPT.
  • Claude Code: run claude mcp add antwork --transport http https://api.antwork.io/mcp, then /mcp to sign in.
  • Cursor: add the URL as a remote MCP server in Cursor's MCP settings.

Then ask something concrete: "Draft an X post about what I shipped today, in the style of my last posts, and schedule it for 9 tomorrow."

Before you give an AI publish rights on X

  • Prefer OAuth over pasted keys. An OAuth grant can be revoked from X's connected-apps settings. Developer keys in a config file go wherever that file goes.
  • Keep a review step. Choose a server that creates drafts and publishes only on an explicit request, so a prompt hidden in a web page cannot post for you.
  • Count the API bill. On your own keys, every post and every read is billed by X. A hosted server's plan already covers it.

Post from your AI, in your own voice.

Connect Claude or ChatGPT once. Drafts start from your recent posts, and nothing goes out until you approve it.

Start free

Free for 2 social accounts. No card, no API key.

FAQ

X MCP servers, answered

Does X (Twitter) have an official MCP server?
Yes. X documents a hosted MCP server at https://api.x.com/mcp, reached through its open-source xurl mcp bridge, and an open-source local server, xmcp, on X's GitHub. The hosted server's documented tools fetch posts, search, read timelines and mentions, manage bookmarks, read news and trends, and create and publish Articles; it lists no tool for creating an ordinary post. Both need your own X developer app, and usage is billed by X's pay-per-use API pricing.
Which X MCP server can post tweets from Claude or ChatGPT?
Hosted servers that connect X through their own app: Antwork, Blotato, OpenTweet, Postiz Cloud, PostMCP and Buffer. They work in claude.ai and ChatGPT because they have a public URL. Open-source servers such as xmcp, vidhupv/x-mcp and Infatoshi/x-mcp also post, but they run locally on your own X developer keys, so they suit Claude Desktop, Claude Code or Cursor.
Do I need an X developer account to use an X MCP server?
Only for servers that run on your own app. X's MCP documentation says 'X's OAuth requires your own developer app', and every GitHub server here asks for your keys. Composio also requires your own OAuth app for X. Antwork, Blotato, OpenTweet, Postiz Cloud and PostMCP connect X through their own app, so you sign in with X and never see a key.
Is there a free X MCP server?
The open-source servers are free to run, but the X API behind them is not: X's pricing page describes pay-per-use with no subscription, and creating a post is listed at $0.015 per request. Among hosted servers, Antwork is free for two connected accounts with up to 15 posts a day per account on X, PostMCP has a free tier of 20 credits a month (an X post costs 5), Postiz says it starts at $0, and Buffer includes MCP on its Free plan.
Can an X MCP server post threads?
Some can. OpenTweet documents threads of up to 25 posts, Blotato and vidhupv/x-mcp list threads, and Buffer's Free plan includes one thread. Antwork does not post threads: each X post is a single post of up to 280 characters, with up to four images, one GIF or one video.
Does an X MCP server work with ChatGPT?
ChatGPT connects to remote MCP servers, not local ones, so you need a hosted server. Antwork is an official app in ChatGPT's directory; Blotato connects as a custom MCP plugin over OAuth. Local GitHub servers and X's xurl bridge run on your machine and do not work in ChatGPT unless you host them yourself.